Society of Physics Students

sps logo

The Society of Physics Students (SPS)  is a professional association explicitly designed for students. Membership, through collegiate chapters, is open to anyone interested in physics. The only requirement for membership is that you be interested in physics. Our members also include majors in chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, mathematics, medicine, music and other fields.

Emory's chapter of SPS welcomes all students with an interest in physics and physical science. SPS holds regularly-scheduled meetings in the department where members can exchange ideas and get to know one another as well as faculty and staff. The setting is relaxing and informal.  Dr. Justin Burton is The Society of Physics Students advisor and can be reached at (404) 727-4297 or

SPS provides an excellent forum for learning about research opportunities in the department as well as broader topics in the field.

2020-2021 SPS Officers

President: Justin Y.J. Burton
Vice President: Diego Gonzalez
Treasurer: Gustavo Borjas
Internal Affairs Chair:
Demo Advisor: 
Demo Chair:
Community Outreach Chairs:
Alumni Chair: Mia Morrell


Benefits of SPS National Membership

Members of Emory's SPS Chapter host several Physics Department events such as Annual Spring Outing, Fall Welcome Back event, outreach, study sessions for final exams, Waffle Friday's and Professor Talks.  All physics majors and minors are encouraged to join SPS.

If you are an Emory Student