Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Graduate Students


Graduate Students

Eslam-Abdelaleem   Eslam Abdelaleem

Email:  eslam.alaa.sabr.abdelaleem@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests: I am interested in finding the underlying low dimensional representations of different biological systems, usually by means of neural networks.  Can we get some analytical insight about how we arrive at those results?  Can we actually learn and discover something new about different systems from these representations?


Ankita Ankita  Ankita Ankita                               

Email:  ankita.ankita@emory.edu

Advisor:  Shashank Skekhar

Research Interests:  "I am interested in multicomponent regulation of actin dynamics i.e., how complex interplay between actin regulatory proteins and mechanical forces lead to emergent cellular actin dynamics."


bavik-linnea  Linnea Bavik

Email: linnea.bavik@emory.edu

Advisor:  Daniel Weissman

Research Interests:  Altruism is ubiquitous in nature and arguably necessary for complex life, but the conditions that enable it to emerge remain unclear.  I am currently interested in identifying mechanisms that enable robust altruism.


 boddu-sataya  Satya Spandana Boddu

Email:  satya.spandana.boddu@emory.edu

Advisor:  Nic Vega & Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests:  I am interested in host-associated microbial ecology, specifically focused on microbiome network in a C. elegans model.  I want to understand how bacterial inter-species and host-species interactions act as building blocks to form these complex systems using bottom-up interaction data to build a mathematical model of the mcrobiome network inside the host.


calderon-josuan  Josuan Calderon

Email:  josuan.calderon@emory.edu

Advisor:  Gordon Berman

Research Interests: My main topic of research is trying to build a  hierarchical model of dynamic brain activity grounded in ECoG and resting state MRI.  Successful completion of this project will establish a quantitative framework for studying the interaction of brain and behavior across length- and time-scales, grounded in the idea that a hierarchical structure of behavior is inextricably linked to a corresponding hierarchy in neural dynamics. I also want to study the influence between the time series that can be generated from coupled oscillators, more specifically what happens when the system reaches state high synchronization. Then, explore if neural data of similar characteristics could be mapped to one of these models and study in a similar manner.  


chen-guanxiong  Guanxiong Chen

Email:  guanxiong.chen@emory.edu

Advisor:  Sergei Urazhdin

Research Interests:  My research main focuses on the highly nonequilibrium phonon system in current driven nano structure and the random coupling at ferromagnet/antiferromaget interface.


Kelvin Chng  Kelvin Chng

Email:  kelvin.george.chng@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests:


collette dylan  Dylan Collette

Email:  djcolle@emory.edu

Advisor:  Laura Finzi

Research Interests: I study the effects of macro molecular crowding on protein-mediated looping in DNA using tethered particle motion experiments. 

couturier-alex  Alex Couturier

Email:  alexander.couturier@emory.edu

Advisor:  Connie Roth

Research Interests:  Studing novel material properties which could be useful in industrial applications.  I joined Connie Roth's lab in which I can explore this through research in nanoscale dynamics of multilayered polymer thin films.


danelia-ketevan  Ketevan Danelia

Email: ketevan.danelia@emory.edu

Advisor:  

Research Interests: I want to master Biophysics due to a vast amount of undisclosed topics about living organisms. Since we live in the era of big data I do believe that in purpose to discover long-standing and fascinating problems such as consciousness, cognition, microbial organization and so on we should analyze these data using the physics main approach: finding and describing the basic underlying reasons for events. I want to be one of those contributors who will find the golden margin between the “complexity of life and the simplicity of physical laws” and solve its knotty problems with fundamental principles.


dawson-emma  Emma Dawson

Email: emma.dawson@emory.edu

Advisor:  Minsu Kim

Research Interests:  I'm interested in understanding how physics drives complex collective behavior and pattern formation in bacterial colonies.


devencia luka  Luka Mate Devenica

Email: luka.matej.devenica@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ajit Srivastava

Research Interests: "My research involves studying the optoelectronics of two-dimensional van-der-Waals materials. This field is exciting because we build devices from materials in the extreme limit - just one atom thick - and because these materials may find interesting applications in nanotechnology some day."


donofrio-corey  Cordell Donofrio

Email:  cjdonof@emory.edu

Advisor:  Eric Weeks

Research Interest:


eddins-andrew  Andrew Eddins

Email:  andrew.charles.eddins@emory.edu

Advisor: Alessandro Veneziani

Research Interests:


emamian-sahand  Sahand Emamian

Email:  sahand.emamian@emory.edu

Advisor:  Katherine Davis

Research Interests:


Gagnon-Yannic  Yannic Gagnon

Email: yannic.gagnon@emory.edu

Advisor: Connie Roth

Research Interest: "I am interested in studying how interfaces affect local material properties in polymer systems. He also investigates acoustic wave propagation in polymer films."


germain-zacharian  Zachariah Germain

Email:  zachariah.germain@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interest:  “My interest lies in biophysics, especially related to animal behavior.”


han-yixuan  Yixuan Han

Email:  yixuan.han@emory.edu

Advisor:  Connie Roth

Research Interests: "Studying changes in fundamental material properties (density, modulus) of thin polymer films and the corresponding correlations with glass transition"


harvery-dana  Dana Harvey

Email:  dana.clark.harvey@emory.edu

 Advisor:  Justin Burton

Research Interests: I work as a soft matter physicist in the Burton Lab. My research focuses on using novel electrostatic measurement techniques with supportive simulations to characterize the fluid interfaces of Leidenfrost vapor layers and the particle interface of acoustically levitated charged particles.


hernandez-zyrus-lee  Lee Hernandez

Email:  lee.hernandez@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests: “My research interests are in single molecule approaches to biological phenomena. It is my hope that I can contribute to advances in medical science.”


hossain-sabid  Sabid Hossain

Email: sabid.hossain@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests: "I am interested in experimental and theoretical Condensed Matter Physics."


illing-pablo  Pablo Illing

Email:pablo.eduardo.illing@emory.edu

Advisor:  Eric Weeks

Research Interests:  My research of interest is currently highly polydisperse materials. I'm currently running simulations of compressed bubble arrays of varying polydispersity, and experiments of sheared polydisperse disks.


ivanov-sergei  Sergei Ivanov

Email:  sergei.vladimirovich.ivanov@emory.edu

Advisor:  Sergei Urazhdin

Research Interests:  My research interest is in complex magnetic systems and magneto-optical effects in thin films.


iyer-lakshmi  Lakshmi Iyer

Email:  lpullas@emoryedu

Advisor:  Luiz Santos

Research Interests:  "I'm interested in studying the topological phases of matter that are characterized by the existence of non-trivial boundary states. My research focuses on studying the symmetry-protected surface states of topological insulators." 


jain-kanishk  Kanishk Jain

Email:  kanishk.jain@emory.edu

Advisor:  Gordon Berman

Research Interests: I use tools from Physics, Mathematics and Deep Learning to measure and model the behavioral and neural dynamics of freely moving animals.


jiang-yonglun  Yonglun Jiang

Email:  yonglun.jiang@emory.edu

Advisor:  Eric Weeks

Research Interests: Influence of polydispersity on soft jammed systems under steady shear; Isomorph theory on glassy systems under shear. 


jin-tao  Tao Jin

Email:  tao.jin2@emory.edu

Advisor:  Tim Lian

Research Interests:  Interested in studying light matter interaction, chirality induced spin-selective charge transfer using Ultrafast Spectroscopy.


kaur-rajpreet  Rajpreet Kaur      

Email:  rajpreet.kaur@emory.edu

Advisor:  Gordon Berman

Research Interests: Interested in studying animal behavior over long timescales using machine learning algorithms to construct dynamical models.


li-chengling  Chengling Li

Email:  chengling.li@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests: “I’m interested in computational biophysics.”


li-chentao  Chentao Li

Email:  cchentao.li@emory.edu

Advisor:  Hayk Harutyunyan

Research Interests:


li-wei  Wei Li

Email:  https://wei.li@emory.edu

Advisor:  Kurt Warncke

Research Interests: "I am interested in protein dynamics, enzyme catalysis, solvent dynamics and general biophysics."

 


li-weijie  Weijie Li

Email:  https://wei.li@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ajit Srivastava

Research Interests:


liu-qihan  Qihan Liu

Email:  qihan.liu@emory.edu

Advisor: Daniel Weissman

Research Interests: “Theoretical evolution that how mutations accumulation within population."


szurek-mateusz  Szurek Mateusz

Email:  mateusz.szurek@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests: I am mostly focused on condensed matter research and finding new physical phenomena in small systems. I focus on the use of nano-scale methods to observe extremely small systems.


meer-david  David Meer

Email:  david.meer@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests: "I am interested in nonlinear dynamics, soft matter, and fluid mechanics. I am currently investigating Schlieren Imaging of an Acoustic Levitator."


merill-james  James Merrill

Email:  james.haley.merrill@emory.edu

Advisor:  Connie Roth

Research Interests:  "James is interested in the physics of polymer glasses near interfaces, including how chain structure and morphology at these interfaces affect material properties like the glass transition temperature." 


Kavinda-Nissanka  Kavinda Nissanka

Email:  kavinda.nissanka@emory.edu

Advisor:  Justin Burton

Research Interests:  I am interested in fluid dynamics of environmental systems. My current work is on viscous sedimentation of irregular particles, and the dynamics of ice mélange.


obadiya-tomilola  Tomilola Obadiya

Email:  tomilola.medetin.obadiya@emory.edu

Advisor:  Daniel Sussman

Research Interests:  “Dynamics in disordered solids (e.g. biological and particulate glass, gels etc.) are known to be spatially and temporally heterogenous. Understanding the correlation between a particle's local structure and its dynamics in such systems, through machine learning tools, is my major research focus."


overman-katherine  Katherine Overman

Email:  katherine.elizabeth.overman@emory.edu

Advisor:  Gordon Berman

Research Interests:  "I use data from fruit flies to measure and model behavior and how it changes across long time scales."


packard-charles  Charles Packard

Email:  charles.robert.packard@emory.edu

Advisor:  Daniel Sussman

Research Interests: "I study active (living) matter frequently used to model biological systems. These systems exist far from equilibrium and exhibit novel physics in the collective motion of the  constituent active agents."


paliwal-waad  Waad Paliwal

Email:  waad.paliwal@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests:  "I am interested in everything soft matter. I am currently studying colloidal gels which are solids suspended in a fluid. The intertwined phases results in very cool properties that have many applications." 


Jin Qian

Email:  jin.qian@emory.edu

Advisor:  Laura Finzi

Research Interests:


rahman-mahajabin  Mahajabin Rahman

Email:  mahajabin.rahman@emory.edu

Advisor:  Stefan Boettcher

Research Interests: I use statistical physics and computational methods to study how behaviors of disordered systems are encoded by features within their complex “energy landscapes”. Since such landscapes are representative of both the configuration space of glassy systems as well as parameter space in optimization problems, I also think about whether one can exploit the physics machinery of the former, to design more adaptive algorithms for navigating the latter.


rajasooriya-tharindu  Tharindu Rajasooriya

Email:  tharindu.rajasooriya@emory.edu

Advisor:  Khalid Salaita

Research Interests:  My research interest is in material science. Particularly in utilizing the unique properties of biological materials such as nucleic acids and Cas-enzymes to synthesize novel polymeric materials. 


riiska-calvin  Calvin Riiska

Email:  calvin.riiska@emory.edu

Advisor:  Jennifer Rieser

Research Interests:  My research interest is in material science. Particularly in utilizing the unique properties of biological materials such as nucleic acids and Cas-enzymes to synthesize novel polymeric materials. 


roman-ahmed  Ahmed Roman

Email:  ahmed.hemdan.roman@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests:   I am interested in animal learning and how models of animal learning are applied to human behavior in various contexts where human behavior data is plentiful. Examples of this contexts include financial markets and epidemic spreading. 


song-yuanbo  Yuanbo Song

Email:  yuanbo.song@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests:   I am interested in experimental biophysics. My current research is about using single molecule method to study the DNA structure.


Enes Suyabatmaz  Enes Suyabatmaz

Email:  enes.suyabatmaz@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests:    


swain-arabind  Arabind Swain

Email:  arabind.swain@emory.edu

Advisor:  Ilya Nemenman

Research Interests:  I am interested in understanding when can Machine Leaning be used to find out relevant physical qualities in a problem especially those related a with lot of data and dimensions. Currently I am working on when can we find the relevant quantities of glassy dynamics using Support Vector Machine(SVM).     


tang-yuankai  Yuankai Tang

Email:  yuankai.tang@emory.edu

Advisor:  Hayk Harutyunyan

Research Interests: 


tian-xinyu  Xinyu Tian

Email:  xinyu.tian@emory.edu

Advisor:  Hayk Harutyunyan

Research Interests:  “My research interest lies in the area of nanophotonics, especially the nonlinear properties and ultrafast dynamics of photonic systems.”

 


towsif-ekramuddin  Ekramuddin Towsif

Email:  ekramuddin.towsif@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests:   "I'm interested in exploring phase transitions and critical points in materials/matter. Currently, I am working on nonconventional superconductors and developing a new theory to provide some insight on developing standard temperature pressure superconducting materials."


wang-jian  Jian Wang

Email:  jian.wang2@emory.edu

Advisor:  Luiz Santos

Research Interests: I am interested in understanding the interplay between topological phases and lattice degrees of freedom in 2D materials. 


wang-michelle-jing  Jing Michelle Wang

Email:  jing.wang@emory.edu

Advisor:  Justin Burton

Research Interests:  I've been working on hydrogels dynamic time-dependent frictional behavior as well as their interesting rheological properties by using a custom-built tribometer.  


webb-toler  Toler Webb

Email:  toler.webb@emory.edu

Advisor:  Daniel Sussman

Research Interests:  I’m interested in connecting my interest in complex, often chaotic, systems to the study of soft active matter. My hope is, through that connection, I can elucidate the patterns and mathematical structures underlying the natural world such that new predictions can be made.


Katie Whitcomb  Katie Whitcomb

Email:  katie.lynn.whitcomb@emory.edu

Advisor:  Kurt Warncke

Research Interests:  I’m interested in connecting my interest in complex, often chaotic, systems to the study of soft active matter. My hope is, through that connection, I can elucidate the patterns and mathematical structures underlying the natural world such that new predictions can be made.

 


xu-wenxuan  Wenxuan Xu

Email:  wenxuan.xu@emory.edu

Advisor:  Laura Finzi

Research Interests:My research interests will be “Transcription regulation associated DNA-protein interaction and DNA conformational changes”.


wentao-yu  Wentao Yu

Email:  wentao.yu@emory.edu

Advisor:  Justin Burton

Research Interests: Applying machine learning to study the dynamics in Dusty Plasma. 


zhao-zehui  Zehui Zhao

Email:  zehui.zhao@emory.edu

Advisor: 

Research Interests:   My research interest is theoretical biophysics.